Hoshino Resorts

Hoshino Resorts

To Customers with Food Allergies

Please kindly inform our staff if you have any food allergies at the time of making reservations except for our buffet restaurants and OMO Cafe. We will make our best effort to remove all allergens from food and/or beverages we serve. However, complete removal of all allergens is NOT guaranteed.

Information about 7 specific ingredients (eggs, dairy, wheat, shrimp, crab, buckwheat and peanuts) is listed in front of each dish in our buffet restaurants and OMO Cafe. However, the lists do NOT guarantee that other unlisted specific ingredients are not used in the dish.

The safety of each and every customer is our first priority. Therefore, we may refuse to serve food and/or beverages to customers who request complete removal of allergens. We will accept to bring in food for such customers, so please kindly inform our staff when making reservations.

We kindly request you to take the above measures when using our restaurants and services, at your own decision.